Where do you read and write?

Are you one to inhabit coffee shops, not hearing the coffee grinder in the background?

Do you sit alone, at home, in a quiet room with a comfy chair?

Do you have different rituals for reading than writing?

In what format do you read–books? Kindles or other e-books? Phones?

 

If you’re interested in my rituals, lately I’ve done my reading piecemeal, on my phone, while waiting for appointments or sitting in coffee shops.  At home, I tend to read on my Kindle, but I also enjoy regular books.  At home, my cats often get in the way of my reading, pawing the pages and not understanding why the book, an inanimate object, is more important than them.

If I read in bed, I fall asleep.

The thing about reading is that I feel that physically I’m not doing anything even though mentally I’m working hard, much harder than when I watch TV, which I do without thinking twice about it.

Writing is a bit different for me.  I can do it piecemeal, in notebooks and in Google docs and such.  I can also sit in my home office with the door closed (to keep the cats out) and write for hours on end, stopping only to refill my caffeine (coffee or diet soda) and water. These sessions tend to last about three hours, even if I’m not looking at the clock.  That’s just me.

What do you do to read and write peacefully and prolifically?

About Em-dash Lady

Em-dash Lady enjoys creative writing most of all, but her interests include art forms from music to writing to visual art to indie films and so forth. She's especially interested in how the art forms influence each other and blend together. She's a creative writing teacher and writer who mostly writes memoir and poetry about her favorite activity, watching TV. I would say I'm kidding, but I'm not. Naps are also her favorite. Too many favorites to count! Enjoy following Em-dash Lady as she figures out how she fits in the ever-evolving world of art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where do you read and write?

  1. If I read in bed I fall asleep too. It’s equivalent to taking a Tylenol PM.

    I like to write away from home. I tend to get more done in a loud busy coffee shop than in the quiet of my own home. When I’m home there are cats (who refuse to be locked out of rooms), there’s TV, and there’s lots of stuff that suddenly needs to be cleaned RIGHT NOW. If I’m out and I promise myself I can’t leave until I get X amount of work done then I get right to it.

Leave a Reply

